Fantasizing about Amalfi

So I have been back from the fabulous continent of Europe for the past 2 weeks and 3 days. My time at home has consisted of working cherry stands at farmers markets and trying not to eat any carbs (since we all know i had enough for a lifetime these past 4 months). Keeping busy at home has helped me from becoming depressed about having to leave my favorite city in the world, Florence.

Image

my little helper

But whenever I get any down time I constantly find myself fantasizing about the amazing trips I was able to take while living in Florence. And one of my favorites, without a doubt, is Amalfi coast.

Image

being touristy at Capri

When I was 16 my grandparents took my sister and I to the island of Capri and I fell in love with it. So I jumped on the opportunity to go back. The Amalfi Coast is in the southern part of Italy in the region of Campania. It consists of multiple coastal cities such as Positano, Sorrento and also the island of Capri.

Image

swimming in green grotto 5 years ago, is that really me? yikes.

The island of Capri is really small, it consists of two little towns, Capri and Anacapri. Pretty simple, which is what makes it so beautiful. If you have noticed in my previous posts, my friends and I enjoy to take the more complicated routes on our trips, so as usual we decided to hike up to town from the port instead of taking the funicular (a little tram thing). So after getting a little sweaty, our first stop in town was to get a yummy lemon iced slushy. After the first one, we became obsessed.

Image

yummm, strawberry & lemon

Anacapri is just a short bus ride up a VERY steep hill above the town of Capri. Capri, like the rest of Amalfi coast, is famous for lemons and limoncello but Anacapri is specifically famous for handmade leather sandals. Howerever, they are a little too over priced for what we wanted to pay.

Image

view from Anacapri

Our next day trip was to the coastal town of Positano, famous for its colorful houses stacked on a hill over looking the beach. In the summer, Italians flock to this small town for the beautiful weather and beach but luckily we beat the crowds and still had amazing weather and an even better time.

Image

view from our boat cruise

Positano consisted of relaxing on the beach, a little corona and then cliff jumping!

Image

the cliff where everyone jumped

Image

and then where we jumped…

So yes, we did jump like 20 feet lower than everyone else BUT it was still a great thrill and everyone else was doing like back flops, which we did not want to do. We jumped around 5 times and it was amazing (by the way everyone else only jumped once)!

Image

So. Much. Fun.

To anyone who is studying abroad or will be studying abroad in Europe, you MUST visit the Amalfi Coast, it is one of the most beautiful places in the world and you will not regret it!

I miss all of my adventures that I had while studying abroad in Florence. Living in Europe for 4 months taught me so much more about myself, brought me life long friendships and memories that I could never forget! I look forward to the next time that I will be able to travel to Italy because it was never goodbye it was just ciao for now!

Image

See you soon Italia!

Leave a Reply

